Three JHS Students Earn Nat’l Merit College Scholarships

(Evanston, Illinois) Today, National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced more than 3,200 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution.

These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2017 competition to approximately 4,000.

This year, 182 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 103 private and 79 public institutions located in 44 states and the District of Columbia.

Three graduates from the Class of 2017 have been awarded these NMSC college scholarships. Congratulations to:

  • Peter Beebe: Probable career field in International Relations; Scholarship from American University (Washington, D.C.)
  • Nicole Hobson: Probable career field in Surgical Medicine; Scholarship from the Unversity of Iowa (Iowa City, Iowa)
  • Justin Hu: Probable career field in Biology; Scholarship from the University of Southern California (Los Angeles, Calif.)

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners announced today are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,500 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $32 million. Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2500 Scholarships.