Dockum, Morrill Receive IASB Better Boardsmanship Awards

(Submitted by the Iowa Association of School Boards)

2016-17 Better Boardsmanship Award Winners
Board Members and Administrators from 29 Iowa Public School Districts and AEAs Recognized for Commitment to Learning and Leadership

Des Moines, Iowa – The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) presented the 2016-17 annual Better Boardsmanship Awards on Nov. 16 during the IASB Convention at the Iowa Events Center in Des Moines.

The awards are given each year to individual board members, board teams and administrators who dedicate time and work to learning, advocacy, leadership and service projects to expand their knowledge and skills for better governance. Applicants must earn credit toward these awards. Johnston School Board members Jill Morrill and Greg Dockum received the statewide honor.

Dockum and Morrill currently serve as the president and vice president, respectfully, of the Johnston Board of Education. Dockum was elected to the board in 2011; Morrill in 2002. Both have received numerous Better Boardsmanship awards in previous years.

The event also recognized Karen Thomsen, board member from Green Hills area education agency (AEA), who earned a Better Boardsmanship Award each year for the past 30 years.

56 board members received the Individual Achievement Award from the following schools and area education agencies:

Ballard Decorah Johnston Sheldon
Belmond-Klemme East Mills Le Mars Sibley-Ocheyedan
Boone Galva-Holstein Marshalltown Sioux Center
Central Rivers AEA Gilmore City-Bradgate Muscatine Sioux City
Charles City Glenwood New Hampton Solon
Colfax-Mingo Independence Oskaloosa United
Colo-NESCO Iowa City Pleasantville Waverly-Shell Rock
West Des Moines

Team Achievement plaques were presented to six school boards with a majority of individual board members who won the Individual Achievement Award and for having a policy in place in support of board development:

Charles City Le Mars
Gilmore City-Bradgate Marshalltown
Glenwood United

The Award of Honor was presented to six superintendents who invested time and effort to build skills and knowledge needed to be informed decision makers:

Dan Cox, Charles City Theron Schutte, Marshalltown
Jeff Herzberg, Gilmore City-Bradgate Davis Eidahl, Solon
Devin Embray, Glenwood Tim Salmon, United

Please visit the IASB website for a full list of award winners and photos of the winners receiving recognition.

IASB is a private, nonprofit organization representing Iowa’s 333 school districts, nine area education agencies and 15 community colleges.