MS Mock Trial Teams Advance to State Tourney

(Submitted by Molly McConnell)

On November 10 and 13, mock trial students from Johnston Middle School and Summit Middle School competed in the regional and play-off rounds of the Iowa middle school mock trial tournament. Out of the 42 teams that competed in the Des Moines region, nine teams were chosen to advance to the state tournament. All three of Johnston’s mock trial teams will move on to compete at the state tournament. Congratulations! The mock trial teams will compete again at the state tournament November 27-29.

Members of the teams include:

Patrick Yang Phoebe Smith Jenna Woodsmall
Brian Zhang Stephen Beaman Bea La Rota
Will Anderson Dylan Coslin Katie Sweet
Kate Bachmann Anna Larson Gabi Michalski
Elise Henrichsen Esha Bolar Kade Tanke
Ellie Lashier Eshaan Chandani Gus Arthur
Sierra Dobson Jenna Whalern Blake Tubbs
Emily Quinn Ferren Dickey Connor Poland
Meredith Downs Kaden Koch Eric Borgmeier
Jeffrey Zou Emma Miller Paige Thacker
Sophie Ruddy Reese Monson

In addition to advancing to the state tournament, several students received outstanding attorney and witness awards. Those students are:

Outstanding Witness Awards Outstanding Attorney Awards
Ellie Lashier Bea La Rota
Eric Borgmeier Anna Larson
Dylan Coslin Esha Bolar
Gus Arthur Phoebe Smith
Jeffrey Zou Kaden Kock
Elise Henrichsen