Board of Ed Welcomes Four New Members

Following the November 5, 2019 elections, the Johnston Board of Education welcomed four new faces to the board. Katie Fiala, Alicia Clevenger, Soneeta Mangra-Dutcher, and Jennifer Chamberland have been elected for a four-year board term. According to the Polk Co. Election Office, with 14 out of 14 precincts reporting, results* were as follows:

Katie Fiala 2069 17.76%
Alicia Clevenger 1805 15.50%
Soneeta Mangra-Dutcher 1293 11.10%
Jennifer Chamberland 1273 10.93%
Lane Sires 1203 10.33%
David Gray 1045 8.97%
Jerry Kinder 1002 8.60%
Jason Arnold 1001 8.59%
Stephen Kenney 917 7.87%
Write In 39 .33%

The new board members will be sworn in on Monday, November 18 as part of the regularly scheduled board meeting. Community members and the public are invited to attend an open house at the new District Office and reception to honor outgoing board members Greg Dockum, Jill Morrill, Marci Cordaro, and Deb Henry, as well as meet the four new board members. The open house will be held from 5-6 p.m. at the new office location of 6510 NW 62nd Ave., Johnston. All are welcome.

Thank you to the nine candidates who put time and effort into running for the school board this year! And, thank you to the citizens of the school district who voted in the election.

*NOTE: Due to the dynamic nature of the election reporting process, results between election results web pages on the Polk Co. Auditor’s site may not be synchronized. Results contained on that site are ‘Unofficial’ until certified by the County Board of Supervisors. Vote totals do not include Provisional Ballots.