JMS Mock Trial State Results

Last week, three out of the four JMS mock trial teams qualified for state competition, which was held Nov. 19-21 in Des Moines.

Team Dragon finished in 15th place and Firestorm took 17th place overall on Wednesday. Team Firestorm was the recipient of the Anthony Critelli award for sportsmanship and decorum. This is an award voted on by the other state competitors and considered a major honor!

Thursday morning kicked off with Team Purple and a fantastic semi-finals performance at the Iowa Court of Appeals. Team Purple ended their season in the semi-final round. Many students from the teams were awarded Honorable Mention Outstanding Attorneys or Witnesses. Congratulations to all of our student mock trial team members and their coaches!

Honorable Mention Outstanding Attorney:
Faith Kreps
Abigail Wharton
Courtney Sweet
Abby Harris
Lauren Wessling
Akshara Eswar
Rahul Santharaam
Maxwell Deacon
Jackson Zimmerman
Matthew Huang
Jake Gragg
William Zhao

Honorable Mention Outstanding Witness:
Kaylee Jones
Audrey Allen
Abigail Wharton
Owen McCormick
Mitchell Driscoll
Jackson Zimmerman
Sydney Maule