Ding, Zeng Nominated for Elite National Academic Award

(Submitted by the Iowa Department of Education)

Eighty-six students from Iowa have been named 2020 candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Two of those students are from Johnston High School. Congratulations to JHS seniors Matthew Ding and Stella Zeng on this prestigious honor!

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the president, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

Candidates are encouraged to apply for the honor; application deadline is Feb. 25, 2020. Winners are announced during the week of May 4.