Matthew Ding Named U.S. Presidential Scholar

Three Iowa students named 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars
DES MOINES — Three Iowa high school students have been named to the 56th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars. The program recognizes up to 161 high school seniors from across the country for their accomplishments in academics, the arts and career and technical education fields.
Matthew Ding

Matthew Ding

Iowa’s U.S. Presidential Scholars are:

  • Matthew Ding, Johnston High School, Johnston
  • Elizabeth C. Meyer, Bishop Heelan Catholic High School, Sioux City
  • Blake R. Van Der Kamp, PCM High School, Monroe
“Being named a U.S. Presidential Scholar is one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students,” said Iowa Department of Education Director Ann Lebo. “I am proud to join the family, friends, and school communities of each of our scholars in congratulating them on their accomplishments, community service and leadership that this recognition represents.”
Mathew Ding and Elizabeth C. Meyer were recognized for their academic success, and Blake R. Van Der Kamp was honored for his outstanding ability and accomplishments in career and technical education (CTE).
Students are selected based on their academic achievement, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.
As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 scholars in the arts and 20 scholars in career and technical education.
A complete list of 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available on the U.S. Department of Education’s website.
#  #  #