Book Awards

StateBookAwardsIowa has four book awards for various grade levels, sponsored by the Iowa Association of School Librarians. Voting for the book awards takes place annually from February through March, with awards announced in April.


   Iowa Goldfinch Logo

Iowa Goldfinch Awards (Grades K-3)


Iowa Children’s Choice Award (Grades 3-6)


Iowa Teen Award (Grades 6-9)


Iowa High School Book Award (Grades 9-12)

In addition to Iowa’s state book awards, linked here are other noteworthy book awards that provide ‘good reads’ to our students.

Caldecott Award Books

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Newbery Award Books

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Coretta Scott King Award Books

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.